Blindness and Insight: The Meaning of Form in F.S. Flint’s Malady, by Elton Uliana

Falando em Literatura...

Blindness and Insight: The Meaning of Form in F.S. Flint’s Malady

flint

Frank Stuart Flint (London, 19 December 1885 – Berkshire, 28 February 1960)

Malady (F.S. Flint)

I MOVE:

perhaps I have wakened;

this is a bed;

this is a room;

and there is light . . .

Darkness!

Have I performed

the dozen acts or so

that make me the man

men see?

The door opens,

and on the landing —

quiet!

I can see nothing: the pain, the weariness!

Stairs, banisters, a handrail:

all indistinguishable.

One step farther down or up,

and why?

But up is harder. Down!

Down to this white blur;

it gives before me.

Me?

I extend all ways:

I fit into the walls and they pull me.

Light?

Light! I know it is light.

Stillness, and then,

something moves:

green, oh green, dazzling lightning!

And joy! this is my room;

there are my books…

View original post 1,759 more words

Leave a Reply

